Who We Are:

The Jim Bell Wireless Association is an Amateur Radio Relay League (ARRL) affiliated radio club and is made up of Amateur Radio enthusiasts from South Central Alabama. The name honors one of our founders, the late Jim Bell. Jim was revered as a mentor to many electronics students who studied under him at Reid State and was also the Butler County EMA Director, then known as the Civil Defense Director. The club was awarded his retired callsign, K4TNS.

We offer a variety of activities to encourage the use of amateur radio. We participate in Field Day in January and June and our members are active in the Amateur Radio Emergency Service (ARES) and National Weather Service SKYWARN.

The Jim Bell Wireless Association Amateur Radio Club is a 501 (c)(3) Public Charity and all your donations are tax deductible. The club is an Alabama Domestic Non-Profit Corporation filed on April 8, 2011 . The company’s filing status is listed as Exists and its File Number is 008-778. Our Federal Tax ID Number is 45-3659921. The Registered Agent on file for this company is Jerry McCullough and is located at 274 W Pettibone Road, Georgiana, AL 36033.

See our brochure here.

When and Where We Meet:

We normally meet the first Saturday of the month but you should check the “Latest News”, on the  Home  page, for the correct day and location.

Join the JBWA:

Have we peaked your interest yet? Would you like to experience the joys of amateur radio? It’s easy…..just contact our club for details on how to start your fun of being on the air! Membership is open for anyone with an interest in amateur radio. Find the membership form Here

Club Officers for 2024

President: George Milligan, AK4NG

Vice President: Chuck Stouse, W4WE

Secretary: Marie Begley KN4QGI

Treasurer: Jerry McCullough, KE4ERO

Club Directors for 2024

Director/Club License Trustee: Bob Luman W4MPQ

Public Relations: Rosie Till

Director/Past President: Nancy Milligan AK4NF

Director (2022 – 2024): Phillip Begley KN4QGJ

Director (2023 – 2025): Tom Crenshaw WE4AU

Director (2024 – 2026): J. W. Adams K4REQ